KM Capability Assessment Tool

APQC’s Knowledge Management Capability Assessment Tool (KM CAT) offers a rigorous way to measure and evaluate your organization’s knowledge management (KM) competencies across four categories: strategy, people, process, and content and information technology. Based on APQC’s Levels of Knowledge Management MaturitySM, the KM CAT lets you measure every aspect of your KM program, from strategy and business case development to specific processes and technologies, and identify how you stack up against the competition.

After completing the assessment, you are assigned an overall maturity rating for your KM program as well as scores for 12 different capabilities. By reviewing your relative performance in the different areas and comparing this to what peers are accomplishing, you can determine where your program falls short and develop a realistic road map to advance to the next level.

The KM CAT is included as a member benefit with APQC’s knowledge management and all-inclusive memberships. Nonmembers may participate in the assessment for a fee. Contact us for questions or to take the KM CAT today!

What you get for your participation

  • a strategic decision-making framework for investing in KM,
  • best practices to help you identify and understand indicators of success,
  • assistance from APQC’s experts to validate your data, and
  • a detailed benchmarking report with comparative peer analysis.

Contact us to make sure your organization is leveraging knowledge for competitive advantage.

The KM Mini Assessment

For those short on time or want a quick look at how advanced their organization is in understanding and implementing knowledge management, this 15-question assessment will help you determine the current state of knowledge management at your organization. Take this short quiz to see where you stand.

PLEASE NOTE: You may only submit one assessment in a calendar year according to your membership terms.