Grayson Award Recognizes Quality Pioneers in Healthcare, Social Responsibility and Global Quality Leadership

2010 C. Jackson Grayson Distinguished Quality Pioneer Medal Winners:
Spencer Hutchens, Jr., Brent James and Gregory H. Watson

(Houston, TX - May 25, 2010) - APQC, a nonprofit best practices and benchmarking firm, announced today the third annual C. Jackson Grayson Distinguished Quality Pioneer Medal winners. Presented annually at the ASQ (American Society for Quality) World Conference on Quality and Improvement, the award recognizes individuals who have demonstrated outstanding leadership in the application of quality philosophy, methods and tools in education, healthcare, public service and not-for-profit organizations.

The 2010 winners include:

  • Spencer Hutchens, Jr., Senior Vice President of Intertek, has dedicated his personal and professional life to principles of accountability towards both society and the environment. A global expert in the field of quality control, ASQ recently created the Spencer Hutchens Jr. Social Responsibility Medalin his honor.
  • Brent James, MD, Executive Director, Institute for Health Care Delivery Research and Chief Quality Officer for Intermountain Healthcare, champions the standardization and enhancement of clinical care through data collection and analysis on a wide variety of treatment protocols and complex care processes.
  • Gregory H. Watson, Chairman, Business Excellence Solutions, Ltd., is one of the world’s leading quality consultants, providing strategic counsel on matters relating to business improvement and specializing in executive coaching for application of scientific methods to enhance quality leadership. Watson is President of the International Academy for Quality and a Past-President and Fellow of ASQ. He is the first non-Japanese individual to have received the Deming Medal from the Japanese Union of Scientists and Engineers.

“These outstanding individuals are true exemplars of what I value most in my own life—obsessed with purpose, caring for people, and a make-it-happen fire in the belly, despite the odds," said Jack Grayson, founder and chairman of APQCand for whom the award is named. “Never doubt that people like this can change the world. They already have.”

About the C. Jackson Grayson Distinguished Quality Pioneer Medal

The C. Jackson Grayson Medal celebrates the professional philosophy expressed throughout his life by Dr. Grayson, Founder and Chairman of APQC.

Winners are nominated by a panel of judges for their contributions to furthering the cause of quality in their sector. They have used management processes, measurement activities and collaboration to increase quality and productivity in their organizations and for society.

Past winners include, Dr. Don Berwick, nominated by President Obama for Administrator of the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services; Dr. Terry K. Holliday, Superintendent, Kentucky’s Commissioner of Education; David T. Kearns, former Chairman and CEO of Xerox Corporation and former Deputy Secretary, U.S. Department of Education; and Sister Mary Jean Ryan, President and CEO, SSM Health Care.

Grayson has a long-standing legacy and relationship with ASQ that dates back to the mid-1980s when ASQ and APQC jointly administered the Malcolm Baldrige National Quality Award.  Grayson is an ASQ Fellow and Distinguished Service Medal recipient. As a leader at the first White House Conference on Productivity, Grayson fostered a national dialogue regarding quality. In 1993 he created the International Benchmarking Clearinghouse to help organizations identify and learn best practices. In 1996 Grayson led an education improvement initiative to restructure academic and administrative processes.

Information on the winners, selection process and APQC may be found at

# # #